An Open Letter To My ‘Fro

Dear Fro,

You are amazing and wonderful. I never knew that such a magnificent creature could grow naturally from my own body. You constantly show me that God has created me as an individual who is beautiful. You are different every day. Wild and Free are two words I would use to describe my Fro. Everyday, when I look in the mirror, you remind me to be a Bad Ass Motherfucker. You really don’t give a shit and I usually appreciate that.

Love or Hate? I'm not sure.

Love or Hate? I’m not sure.

But right now, you’re kind of pissing me off. I love it when you don’t care about what the world thinks but lately, you don’t care about what I think. I try to style you, and you laugh at me. I try to detangle you, and you eat my comb. So at this very moment, it seems that we are at a crossroads.

Will I relax you? Never. I can’t ask you to be anything but what you are. But you are going in time out. That’s right. A time out. I need a break from you. You’re stressing me out and I can’t deal with you right now. So for the next couple of weeks, you shall be covered. A wig or turban will do. Nothing permanent needed.

Maybe when I free you, I will be more appreciative of EVERYTHING that you are.

Love,

SCAT

Leave a Reply

